Stop Deluding Yourself, Tobby!

Have you ever felt like you could do something big when you imagine yourself doing it? Well, I’ve done that a lot of times, and boy, did the situation itself come back to bite me in the butt.

For example, I once had to speak in front of an audience to introduce my topic for an essay. As I made my slide show, I was thinking like this:

[I’ll explain this in a really comedic way that’ll make everyone laugh, so that they’ll keep my eyes on me!]

Yeah, good one, Tobby. Now, stop deluding yourself.

Actually, that self-reminder above didn’t cross my mind, so when the presentation time came in…

I ended up…

…like this…

…pausing because of nervousness…

…explaining with a gaze that was scrambling…

…and then ending quickly but awkwardly.

It seems that my audience may have understood what I was talking about, but I wouldn’t be 100% sure about that. Oh boy, you better stop deluding yourself, Tobby.

Delusions of grandeur…Boy, do they make you feel high and mighty, and then the reality of your limits bites you in the butt, waking you up in an embarrassing state. I remember myself being a victim of it while making that old character blog that’s now at the early stages of becoming a dust-covered zone.

Anyway, I’ll now keep this short and simple. We all have our levels of “best,” and we should aim for our level best, not aim for surpassing everyone in the world. Don’t let yourselves be controlled by delusions of grandeur.

And stop deluding yourself, Tobby! Don’t think that you can get popular that easily!

Feel free to say something!

