Mom, Why Are the Creases and Wrinkles in Clothes Such a Big Deal to You?

Mom, I have a question:

Why are the creases and wrinkles in clothes such a big deal to you?

I haven’t checked for several days if the clothes that I was wearing were ironed,

And I haven’t been called out because of it even once in public.

Well, maybe there would be more people like you who have difficulty tolerating such things,

But I don’t understand why clothes shouldn’t be creased and wrinkled.

The clothes that I’ve been wearing are clean.

They’ve gone through the washing machine,

They’ve gone through the drying power of heat,

They’re folded or hung,

And then they end up in my closet.

Yeah, now I’m wondering is really worth it, too.

Well, ironed clothes feel warmer,

And they look cleaner,

But they don’t stay like that forever, you know.

Iron them or not, they get more creases and wrinkles,

And that reminds me that we’re imperfect.

I should wear ironed clothes to look more respectable, huh…?

Well, looking cleaner does seem to have a point…

Maybe it would give others a better impression of me…

But when I think about it…

In the long run…

It’ll eventually be creased and wrinkled,

And I don’t understand why I should turn creases and wrinkles into a big deal.

Besides, in the end, a person’s true worth isn’t determined by their appearance.

I think it’s a person’s decisions that makes them who they are.

Well, I apologize if my previous reaction towards your opinion on the neatness of clothing were offending.

If you want them ironed, then fine, I’ll go by your rules.

I don’t see anything morally wrong with it.

But in the end, I would like you to remember that physical appearance won’t tell everything about a person.

There’s a possibility that a person with ironed clothes may be bad,

And there’s a possibility that a person with creased and wrinkled clothes may be good.

Let’s not judge by appearances, Mom.

I still love you, you know.

I just don’t see why I should make a big deal out of creases and wrinkles in clothes.

I also don’t see why I should make a big deal out of dirtied clothes.

If they’re dirtied, I can still choose to keep calm and change it.

If it’s creased and wrinkled, well, unless it’s a bother to a lot of people, then fine, I’ll go change into an ironed set of clothes.

Still, I don’t think we should worry too much about creases and wrinkles,

Because physical appearance doesn’t totally define who we are.

We’re not perfect,

Like the creased and wrinkled clothes that you worry about so much,

Those clothes that look clean

But still have imperfections.

Still, we should accept others for who they are.

Even if we’re not perfect,

Please remember that we can still make a difference to ourselves

And that we can also help other people make a difference to themselves.

We just have to do our best,

Have fun,

Keep calm,

And look at the bright side!

There’s always something good in each and every one of us, you know!

Let’s not make a big deal out of creased and wrinkled clothes, Mom.

I guess I’ve been repeating my message here over and over already.

I hope you understood all the stuff that I just said here!

Hmm…you know, Mom…I thought of something.

I think I should make the washing, drying, and ironing of my clothes

Serve as reminder for me to keep on improving myself for the better!

I’ll look at ironing that way

As I try to understand why you make such a big deal out of creased and wrinkled clothes.

Right now, I’m still wondering:

Mom, why are the creases and wrinkles in clothes such a big deal to you?

9 thoughts on “Mom, Why Are the Creases and Wrinkles in Clothes Such a Big Deal to You?

  1. YoungMistake says:

    “I think it’s a person’s decisions that makes them who they are.”
    – Wow. I love this write. It may have the touch of repetition but it is a moving piece. Well-done! 🙂

Feel free to say something!

