The Choice to Keep Calm is Always Available, Tobby!

I step into the chaotic crowd again.

As usual, I see a bunch of agitated people

Being affected by and affecting the people around them.

I think I’ve been here before, too.

As the crowd tries to influence me into becoming agitated again,

I am reminded:

“Tobby, pick your choice.

Become agitated?

Or keep calm?”

Ah, I can see it again.

I have been reminded by a lot of people:

“The choice to keep calm is always available, Tobby!

You can’t control others,

But you can still control yourself!”

After the reminder was reinforced into my mind

Through repeated hammers and flashes,

I can see the buttons clearly now.

I am an individual.

I can’t directly control others,

Because others have free will!

But I can still control myself,

Because I have free will, too!

As the crowd tries to influence me into becoming agitated,

Two buttons stand in front of me:

Let the crowd’s influence control me into becoming agitated?

Or shield yourself from the crowd’s influence and keep calm all the way?

I know what to do now.

I have to think things through.

Problems are harder to deal with when agitated,

So I decided to shield myself from the crowd’s influence

And keep calm all the way.

The glass barriers of agitation surrounding my calmness shatters

And my mind felt clearer at that moment.

As the crowd still keeps on trying to influence me into becoming agitated,

The buttons appear once again.

Become agitated?

Or keep calm?

Well, I should remind myself again:

The choice to keep calm is always available, Tobby!

2 thoughts on “The Choice to Keep Calm is Always Available, Tobby!

  1. Very nice. Such as lovely message. When I was younger and felt stressed or agitated, I would think “The Public Be Damned!” This mantra got me through some very difficult times. Your lovely poem sent me back to those days 🙂

    • Thank you very much, Mads! People should learn that patience is a virtue, and I don’t think that lesson won’t stop drilling on everyone for a very very long while. I guess it would drill on everyone forever, too. Well, people change if they choose to. I do hope that people learn the importance of patience! 🙂

Feel free to say something!

