Tobby’s Recommendation Yell: The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens

I'm very thankful for getting and reading this book. Thank you very much, Bridgebuilders (was that the name? I kinda forgot, so I'm not sure, but anyway...), and thank you very much, Sean Covey and the people who helped him make the book!

I’m very thankful for getting and reading this book. Thank you very much, Bridgebuilders (was that the name? I kinda forgot, so I’m not sure, but anyway…), and thank you very much, Sean Covey and the people who helped him make the book!

I first heard about Sean Covey’s “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens” from my principal during high school, but I only learned the names of the Habits and then eventually forgot them temporarily. Then, during last summer vacation, I learned more about them in a seminar-workshop, and from that same seminar-workshop, I even got a copy of the book, which I just finished reading a few weeks ago. And yes, I’m a teenager, but I won’t tell you my exact age yet. It will be revealed in due time…

Anyway, I’ve learned a lot from The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens, and I would like to show you what I’ve learned through my drawings and words!

Habit 1: Be Proactive

And by the way, the "-zord" in "Tobby-zord" is kind of a reference to the Megazords in Power Rangers.

Tobby, you need to remember that you’re the only one who can control the Tobby-zord, or else you’ll be watching XX (Whoops, better not drop any Dangan Ronpa spoilers here) getting high on your despair multiple times, which isn’t–Wait, I think getting recruited by XX would be worse than that, so yeah, please remember that you’re the only one who can control the Tobby-zord, Tobby.

What I learned in a freaking nutshell: I can’t control others, but I only I can control myself! I can choose to be happy even if others are sad, I can choose to look for a solution to a problem even if everyone else thinks there no solution to the problem, and I can choose to do what’s right even if many people would hate me because of it! The world around me is an influence, like I am to the world, and only I can decide how the world around me will influence me!

Habit 2: Begin with the End in Mind

And speaking of which, flapping arm-wings reminds me of Flappy Bird!

Tobby, you just surrendered yourself to doom. Open your eyes and flap those arm-wings back to safety already!

What I learned in a freaking nutshell: I should have a clear goal in life that I am committed to, a goal that only I should decide on, a goal that can help me become a better person, because if I don’t do this, then the world around me can easily drag me away from the right path. I should also know what my strengths and weaknesses are, because knowing them can help me in choosing the right path, too!

Habit 3: Put First Things First

I feel like this is something that many teens can relate to, but seriously, I'm not encouraging this. This really bad habit of focusing so much on play time (like surfing the net) and forgetting work (like homework) and other more important stuff (like sleep) really landed me in really bad spots (like a class attendance record that is currently near the "get-a-failing-grade" zone), you know.

Not this again, Tobby. Well, looks like it’s time to bring out the big guns…

What I learned in a freaking nutshell: I need to balance my time. I need to discipline myself. I need to gather willpower to do the more important things even if the going gets tough. Hardships and failure are things that I will definitely encounter in life, but I shouldn’t give up, and I should also learn from these hardships and failures in order to accomplish my goals.

Habit 4: Think Win-Win

Realization in three...two...one...

Realization in three…two…one…

What I learned in a freaking nutshell: Everyone is equal, and it’s just that each and every one of us have different features, strengths, weaknesses, and development timetables. Still, everyone can be great. No need to worry so much about winning or losing competitions against other people, I just need to do my best and have fun! No need to compare myself to others, too. Instead of being envious of others’ success, I should use their success as inspiration to do my best and have fun, and try to help them out in things that they’re not good at, too! If I won’t be able to find a Win-Win solution with someone, then it’s better to go No Deal and stop for a while.

Habit 5: Seek First to Understand, Then to Be Understood

The sledgehammer throw here reminds me of a certain scene in the movie "Now You See Me."

I know you want to help the wall, but the wall needs cement, not a sledgehammer, Tobby.

What I learned in a freaking nutshell: I should listen carefully to people first before responding to them with what I think. I should also be constructive in giving criticism to people, too! And when listening, I shouldn’t just focus only on their words, but also on their tone and their body language, too!

Habit 6: Synergize

We're all unique, Tobby, believe it or not. In other words, there's something weird in each and every one of us.

We’re all unique, Tobby, believe it or not. In other words, there’s something weird in each and every one of us.

What I learned in a freaking nutshell: No person is more superior or inferior to another, just different. I can also find inspiration in others’ differences, even if I don’t agree with some of those differences. I should respect others, no matter who they are, because we’re all inherently good and we all have the potential to be great, and with our differences, we can work together to find better ways to solve problems! I can’t properly go through life all alone and self-centered, too!

Habit 7: Sharpen the Saw

Would you like to know more about the Kagerou Project?

Tobby, use a whetstone on your sword before XX (censored KagePro spoiler) decides to offer you as a sacrifice to XX queen.

What I learned in a freaking nutshell: I need to have balance in my life. I need to keep my body fit, keep my mind sharp, be kind to myself and to others, and keep on renewing and awakening my inner self, because if I don’t, living life happily and properly would become difficult to do.

To be honest, I’m still struggling with some of the Habits, but still, I won’t give up! Anyway, if you, dear reader, are a teen and are struggling with life, I’d like you to read Sean Covey’s “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens!” It’s freaking humorous, light, and inspirational, you know! “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens” is definitely worth a read!

Feel free to say something!

