Precious Puzzle Pieces

A famous person once said
“The secret to true happiness
Is to not listen to others’ words.
Follow your heart and no one else’s.”

But when I looked at my heart,
I couldn’t fully trust it
Because why should I worship
That broken and imperfect object?

This thing in my chest
This thing that’s like a puzzle piece
It has been stabbing you and me
With bloody edges

Yet I find answers
When I fit it well
With other pieces
From other people

So I threw that advice away
And wrote another reminder for the day:
“Hearts and bonds are fragile but priceless
Pieces that shouldn’t be underestimated.”

Feel free to say something!

