Again and Again

Author’s Note: I wrote this story in response to a writing prompt in the WritingPrompts subreddit:

Since you were five, you have been able to save and reload the world like a game, but people are starting to catch on and remember thing[s] from timelines that never even happened. Worse is, you have decided to kill everyone just to see what would happen.

This story was first posted on Reddit. Also, I think I’ll be writing a lot more prompted stories in the future. Still, I’m gonna work on longer ones, like sakiyama, but hey, properly working on longer stories takes a longer while, yo.


A song rings in my ears, with a roaring rock tune and a high and sweet voice depicting another person’s bloody death by truck yet again.

Oh, and I killed someone again. The corpse is rotting, and even the smell of rotten flesh doesn’t give me that high anymore.

And then a flash of inspiration appears when my ears catch lyrics about a persona who decides to be killed by the truck instead of the persona’s friend.

“I should try killing myself next. Without help from others.”

Wasting no time, I jumped off the rooftop where I was sitting.

The rush of the air and the approaching ground felt like nothing, because I had spent too many times delivering death from above.

What my senses felt were the song in my ears (and it was now about a girl who was stuck in a time loop) and the crunching of my bones and organs (but I didn’t feel much, because I had spent several times getting my body broken).

As I reset everything again, I hoped.

When I opened my eyes again, I saw a certain woman’s warm smile.

I killed her once, or maybe multiple times? I forgot, but why is she smiling? Revenge? Insanity? Malice?

As for why I’m wondering about that…she was just a random woman who I decided to kill one day. So, I asked…

“…why?”

She kept on smiling while she lifted something up, showing a basket with boxes of food to me.

“Because I’ve seen that you can do good. You’ve done so many times too. You forgot about them, didn’t you?”

And then I realized that there was a song playing in my ears, a song with a happy rock tune and an energetic diva trying to cheer me up. Seems like my music player was on shuffle mode. Still, it’s not like I don’t like hearing the song right now.

Then, I noticed the full moon behind the kind woman. It felt really gentle. It reminded me of the song in my ears even more too.

“I guess I won’t be resetting for a long while,” I said.

I reached my hand out to the woman, and she pulled me up with no hesitation.

“That’s nice,” she answered, still smiling. “Come on, let’s eat.”

“Yeah.”

And then I felt a smile on my face. I also felt warmth flowing and growing within my chest.

Huh, joy. I haven’t felt that in a long while.

Still, that didn’t break my smile. In fact, it made my smile grow.

Life isn’t boring anymore, see.

Feel free to say something!

