Noping Away

Author’s Note: This story was written in response to the following prompt in the WritingPrompts subreddit:

In the darkest reaches of the world, the cracks are portals to other worlds. You’ve found one in a dingy alley.

This story was first posted on Reddit. By the way, I think I’ve been feeling an art block lately. I should go make some changes in my art-making routine, I guess. Also, I’ve been playing League of Legends a lot lately. I’d be glad to play a match or two with friends and family who are interested enough.

Oh, and as for this story, I think my recent laziness is showing. Maybe that’s the most dominant material in the composition of my recent art block…Please feel free to give me advice on properly dealing with such a problem, dear readers!

Anyway, here’s the story! Also, honest constructive feedback is highly encouraged and will be highly appreciated!


“I swear, man, I saw a guy get sucked into a crack in this alley!”

“Yeah, yeah, yeah…”

As usual, I went along to see whatever insanity he was nerding out about, all while expecting some inevitable debunking. I hoped that the debunking would come sooner, though, ’cause he forced me out of a League of Legends match.

So yeah, if we end up finding nothing, I’m gonna use the nearby trashcan lid to smash his head in…again and again and again.

You know what, I’mma pick the lid up, ’cause I’m pretty sure that nothing will–

“WHOA!”

There was a great flash, a blast of wind, and then there was a man in front of the crack that my annoying companion was pointing at a while ago. He looked like a homeless guy, but…he was covered in some weird…slime…?

“IT’S REAL! HAHA! IT’S REALLY REAL! FINALLY! THERE ARE PORTALS TO OTHER WORLDS!”

And then my crazy companion grabbed the slimy guy.

“YOU! HOW WAS IT? WHAT SORT OF WORLD WAS IT? TELL ME!”

“…so…hot…”

I was about to check the slimy guy’s expression more closely when said guy started melting. Also, his face became so disfigured that I couldn’t know what he was feeling anymore.

“WHOA WHOA WHOA THIS BURNS THIS BURNS THIS BURNS! HELP! GET ME WATER! MAKE IT STOP!”

At this point, the weirdness was overloading my brain, so yeah…I decided to run before I lost consciousness.

“DON’T LEAVE ME, YOU BASTARD!”

Indeed, a bunch of angry teammates are easier to deal with than the insanity I’m running away from. Also, why do I let that guy hang out with me a lot?

“I’M GONNA GIVE YOU SOME BURNING SLIME, THEN, YOU COWARD!”

Oh yeah…He’s a pretty persistent guy.

Okay, seriously, what did I do to deserve this?

Feel free to say something!

