Dappou Rock – TOB English Cover

Okay, now that the upload delay has been stopped, hi, I’m The Overlord Bear, and here’s my first uploaded cover with English translyrics…and I don’t count that “Yoake to Hotaru” cover I did but took down once ’cause I did an unauthorized upload of the video for Mes’s cover.

Okay, so, this was started some time ago this year, probably during June, the month when “Dappou Rock” was uploaded, or maybe July, managing to make a full translyrics draft and even a translation quality check from Emma, but I didn’t really push forward with recording for a while because of various stuff. I started recording and mixing vocals during November, I think, a time when I, who had been humbled by better translators, had also gotten help from Myo, a.k.a. Forgetfulsubs.

Now, it’s uploaded, and I’d like to thank those who helped me out in the making of this. Also, special mention to Myo, her quality-checking, and her subtitling! Do check out her translation of “Dappou Rock” as well! And by the way, you’ll probably notice a few lines in the subtitling of my cover being parts of her translation of “Dappou Rock,” which I decided to keep in to mess around with you peeps a little…well, a little more, considering how crazy Ryuusee’s video is.

As for my thoughts on the audio production here, trying to sing like Araki is something I’m not confident in, and there’s this annoying and hard-to-remove clicking sound near the end of the first hook. Still, they’re not as big as my liking for my lower voice range, the harmonizing, and the effects I used, yo~

As for my thoughts on the song and how I translated it, I decided to translate it that way ’cause I wanted to be as close as I can get to the original feel of the song, which feels more held back and self-contradicting than in-your-face and straight-up “Fxxk the law!” Also, I consider this cover a part of what I consider more creative ways to express my rage, sadness, and stuff. I don’t like doing stuff like wildly ranting, see, even though such stuff seems so appealing at times.

And hey, here’s this cover’s mp3. Also, if you wanna cover this song with my translyrics, then here’s the lyrics sheet. Please credit and link to me, TOB/The Overlord Bear, if you’re gonna use them, okay?

And again, honest constructive feedback is highly encouraged and will be highly appreciated. 🙂

Feel free to say something!

