Tobby tried to sing “Headphone Actor”

So, after waiting for a number of days and going trial-and-error with deleting some browsing data, I’ve finally stopped delaying the upload of this song cover which was supposed to be uploaded on my birthday! Plus, I can’t go back in time, so yeah, I’ll deal with what I can deal with.

Anyway, about how I worked on this, well, I think I spent a day or two with recording and mixing vocals for this. I had already prepared the instrumental some time before, lowering the pitch and mastering the sound, the latter being something that I was doing along with a bunch of other offvocal tracks. As for singing the song, there was difficulty, even with the lowered pitch, particularly during the last hook, as I needed to make sure that I didn’t run out of breath while trying to stay on-key. Working on the harmonies also made me think about what can I manage and how I can improve there, especially considering how I hit the ceiling of my range while reaching the end of the high-range harmony track.

Also, I’ve been reminiscing about how “Headphone Actor” was one of the songs which really hooked me into Vocaloid. I think it was during 2012, back when I was just looking at example songs for various Vocaloids while sating my curiosity about the software that I found being referenced by anime and manga fans. IA was one of the Vocaloids I was checking, with Lia’s involvement attracting more of my interest towards IA, and “Headphone Actor,” an IA demo song, was one of the songs I checked out early on. Back then, I wasn’t quite attentive when it came to which musician produced which Vocaloid song and all that, but still, what made “Headphone Actor” so attractive to me was the combination of story and song. Eventually, while I searched for more Vocaloid songs, I found out about Jin, a.k.a. Shizen no Teki-P, and I became a fan of his works, especially the Kagerou Project. The interesting story + song combinations really got me, you know, and although I listen to other musicians more lately, Jin’s works still have a special place in my heart. Also, there’s a ton of other producers and works that kept me a fan of Vocaloid. I guess I can say that them song cover peeps helped out a lot there, too.

Well, that’s that for now, I guess. I’m not up for rambling around too much, see. Also, I managed to get through a semester of classes again, I’m on break from school right now, and I’m gonna go back to it on January. I should take the opportunity to spend more time on sleep and other important things right now, alright…that, and stories, collabs, and more…but first, more sleep…

Also, mp3, yo. And see you again in the den as well. And before I further forget, honest constructive feedback is highly encouraged and will be highly appreciated.

Feel free to say something!

