Tobby tried to arrange and sing “Haiboku no Shounen”

Comparing this arrange to the original makes me feel like I still have a lot to learn and a long way to go when it comes to making worthwhile music, but hey, the journey of an artist requires an audience and their honest constructive feedback, so yeah. 🙂

Also, I’d like to express how I felt good about working on this, particularly on the instrumental. The LMMS samples aren’t really high-tier, as far as I’ve observed, and I’ll need a lot more in-depth technical knowledge when it comes to instrumental arrangement and audio engineering, but I enjoy the way the instruments blend with each other. The piano feels like it has a nice rhythm, particularly in the hooks/choruses. The violin, the electric guitar, and the percussion sound like they add an emotional rock feel when they blend in. The eighth-note bass guitar strumming…now that got me valuing bass instruments even more!

Regarding recording the vocals, I feel like I’ve been managing to add emotion into my main vocal singing some more. I think I need some more practice when it comes to working up harmonies, though…

As for working on the vocal mix and the audio mastering, I utilized the Echo effect in Audacity some more, I appreciated boosting most of the bass and cutting most of the treble in my main vocal track some more, I did some attempts at subtle Reverb and Harmonic Enhancer use on the main vocal track, I tried to turn the harmony tracks into Reverbed and Delayed ghosts again, and the Hard Limiter use happens again during my attempts at mastering. Oh, and I don’t think I’ve told you about my recent attempts at working audio panning and stereo imagery, so yeah, there.

And yeah, though I still have a lot to learn and a long way to go, I feel like I’m progressing!

And, uh…this was uploaded while I’m in the middle of recovering from a cold…which probably seems more like a very difficult idea, considering how I manage my time lately. That, and the vocal recording + vocal mixing + audio mastering happened some days before that, so…yeah, time to get some rest for some time.

And now, here’s this arrangement + vocal cover’s mp3. And if you wanna try singing with my instrumental arrangement, then here’s the offvocal.

Honest constructive feedback is highly encouraged and will be highly appreciated, yo! \(^o^)

Feel free to say something!

